News Flash Home
The original item was published from 7/21/2023 1:40:12 PM to 9/1/2023 12:00:10 AM.

News Flash

Community Events

Posted on: July 21, 2023

[ARCHIVED] FCBHA Presents Annual Community Recognition Award

FCBHA Community Recognition Award Pic 1

Marcy Ozorowski of Connellsville is the 27th recipient of the prestigious award.

Marcy Ozorowski of Connellsville is the 27th recipient of the Fayette County Behavioral Health Administration (FCBHA) Community Recognition Award.

Presented Thursday during the Fayette County Commissioners’ monthly meeting, the award recognizes an outstanding community leader who has made a difference in the lives of people in recovery; children and adults with mental health needs; or individuals with intellectual disabilities and/or on the Autism Spectrum.

FCBHA Advisory Board member Karen Blocker nominated Ozorowski for the award after knowing and working with her for 37 years, because she “goes above and beyond for her community.”

Blocker’s nomination form states that Ozorowski has been instrumental in keeping Connellsville State Hospital in her community since the 1980s. Ozorowski also regularly raises money for various organizations and causes, including homeless shelters, the Autism School and veterans.

She once took up a collection of food, money, supplies and more for families affected by major flooding in the North Manor and Breakneck communities. Ozorowski is also actively working to create a space in Connellsville to help the homeless population with mental health and medical needs.

Heavily involved with her church, its choir and Sunday school, Ozorowski “is always there for anyone and everyone and never asks for anything in return,” the nomination states.

“If more people cared like she does, communities would all be so much better,” Blocker said.

Eligibility criteria for the annual FCBHA Community Recognition Award include:

  • Should be a Fayette County resident. 
  • Can be an individual, community organization, advocacy group, current or former employee or volunteer.
  • Should have a direct linkage to the system of care in some form of collaboration.
  • Should be associated with significant positive outcomes in the lives of Fayette County residents and/or the community system of care.

For a list of past recipients, visit


Photo captions:

Pictured, from left, are FCBHA Advisory Board member Karen Blocker; FCBHA Community Recognition Award winner Marcy Ozorowski; Commissioner Vince Vicites; Commissioner Dave Lohr; FCBHA Administrator/CEO Dave Rider; Commissioner Scott Dunn.

FCBHA Community Recognition Award Pic 1

Additional Info...
Facebook Twitter Email